Capital District Kiwanis History

Clubs Divisions Regions Site Map Leadership People

Capital District

Taken from History of the Capital District Volume 2
by Harry G. Kimball District Historian
Covering Five (5) District Conventions 1919 to 1923

The Capital District was organized on August 29, 1918, by two existing clubs in its territory, namely, Washington and Baltimore with Alfred G. Goodrich of Baltimore Governor.

The first annual convention was held in Baltimore, October 4, 1919. At that time there were four chartered clubs Washington, Baltimore, Wilmington and Richmond while Norfolk had been completed but not yet chartered.
Governor Goodrich was re-elected and
Maxime Ducharme of Richmond, was elected District Secretary.
The Lieutenant-Governors were Edwin W. Lintner of Wilmington and J. D. Hank Jr of Richmond.

The first semi-annual convention was held in Wilmington DE on February 21, 1920. Roanoke, Lynchburg and Portsmouth had clubs by this time.

On August 14, 1920, at a meeting of the District Trustees, the District Secretary resigned and was succeeded by Harry G. Kimball of Washington, who held that office until January 1, 1923.

The second annual convention was held in Washington DC on October 9, 1920.
J. D. Hank Jr of Richmond elected Governor.
The Lieutenant-Governors were John J. Boobar of Washington, and William C. Corey of Wilmington.
John N. Dimling of Baltimore was Treasurer.

The second and last semi-annual convention was held in Richmond, Virginia, on April 9, 1921. The new clubs were Newport News, Norton, Pulaski, Martinsville, Salem, Hagerstown and Clifton Forge making fifteen clubs.

The third annual convention was held in Norfolk, Virginia on September 30 and October 1, 1921. One new club Alexandria had been formed at that time.
John J. Boobar of Washington DC was elected Governor.
The Lieutenant-Governors were Julian Y. Williams of Alexandria and David Pender of Norfolk.
Governor Boobar resigned on March 1, 1922, succeeded by Julian Y. Williams and
C. Walter Baker
of Hagerstown MD was elected Lieutenant-Governor.

The fourth annual convention was held in Washington, D C on October 13 and 14, 1922. This was the first convention financed by the District itself instead of the host club.
Edwin W. Lintner, of Wilmington was elected Governor for 1923, and
Robert E. Turner
of Norfolk elected District Secretary-Treasurer.
The District was divided into four zones with a Lieutenant-Governor for each.
The Lieutenant-Governors were C. Walter Baker of Hagerstown, Frank Talbott of Danville, Charles M. Armes of Roanoke, Allan D. Jones of Newport News.

The following new clubs were formed in 1922: Petersburg, Charlottesville, Harrisonburg, Frederick, Staunton, Winchester, West Point and Marion.

The fifth annual convention was held in Baltimore, Maryland, on October 19 and 20, 1923.
Claude H. Woodward of Washington was elected Governor.
The Lieutenant-Governors were Merle E. Towner of Baltimore, Charles G. Mathis of Charlottesville, Thomas G. Burch of Martinsville and Joseph M. Fentress of Norfolk,
Robert E. Turner of Norfolk was re-elected District Secretary-Secretary.

The new clubs formed in 1923 were Radford, Big Stone Gap, Ashland, Fredericksburg, Seaford, Emporia, Coeburn, South Boston and Covington.